Rep. Calvert Introduces Bill to Honor Lance Corporal Kareem Nikoui

November 2, 2021
Press Release

Today, Congressman Ken Calvert (CA-42) introduced legislation, H.R. 5809, to name the Norco Post Office in honor of Lance Corporal Kareem Nikoui. Lance Corporal Nikoui, a Norco resident, was killed during the August 26, 2021 Kabul terror attack while serving in the U.S. Marine Corps. The bill will officially designate the U.S. Post Office located at 1801 Town and Country Drive as the Lance Corporal Kareem Nikoui Memorial Post Office.

“Lance Corporal Nikoui is a hero in every sense of the word,” said Rep. Calvert. “By putting himself in harm’s way to help Americans and others desperate to leave Afghanistan, Lance Corporal Nikoui acted with bravery and honor. We can never repay Lance Corporal Nikoui or his family for the extraordinary sacrifice they have paid for our nation, but we can and we must pledge never to forget his courageous actions. The city of Norco has embraced the Nikoui family in the wake of this tragedy, and one of the many ways we can remember Lance Corporal Nikoui in perpetuity is by naming the Norco Post Office after him.”

After graduating from Norco High School in 2019, Lance Corporal Nikoui joined the Marine Corps where he was assigned to the 2nd Battalion, 1st Marines unit stationed at Camp Pendleton. As a member of that unit, Lance Corporal Nikoui was deployed to Afghanistan where he participated in Operation Allies Refuge to evacuate U.S. citizens, American allies, Afghan partners and others at-risk. While serving at the Kabul airport’s Abbey Gate, Lance Corporal Nikoui was one of 13 American servicemembers killed when an ISIS-K terrorist detonated a suicide bomb.

The following members of the U.S. House of Representatives are original cosponsors of the bill:

  • Rep. Doug LaMalfa (CA-1)
  • Rep. John Garamendi (CA-3)
  • Rep. Mike McClintock (CA-4)
  • Rep. Mike Thompson (CA-5)
  • Rep. Jay Obernolte (CA-8)
  • Rep. Jerry McNerney (CA-9)
  • Rep. Barbara Lee (CA-13)
  • Rep. Ro Khanna (CA-17)
  • Rep. David Valadao (CA-21)
  • Rep. Devin Nunes (CA-22)
  • Rep. Kevin McCarthy (CA-23)
  • Rep. Mike Garcia (CA-25)
  • Rep. Young Kim (CA-39)
  • Rep. Mark Takano (CA-41)
  • Rep. Katie Porter (CA-45)
  • Rep. Michelle Steel (CA-48)
  • Rep. Darrell Issa (CA-50)